So, here’s an email I just wrote. When I started it, I actually did intend to send it. About halfway through, I realised that if I want anybody in the administration to actually listen to any of it, I’m going to have to reword it to be less hostile. Not because I think they don’t deserve to be treated with hostility, but because I know that hostility in an approach generally gets your approach immediately discounted.

(I know, I know, not everyone believes this. If they did, then people wouldn’t whinge about Dan Fincke’s civility pledge. But most of the complaints I’ve actually read in person are from people who I automatically discount because, well, they’re huge jackasses. (Also note that I haven’t read a lot of the blogger responses to it; mostly just comments on Dan’s blog and Facebook page.))

Anyway, here’s the email:

Governor Corbett,

I just learned about your suit against county clerk Hanes in Montgomery County (a man who, I may say, makes me proud to have spent much of my life there). You need to stop pursuing this immediately. Republicans love to make much about how the government should just butt out, minimize involvement. So BUTT OUT. Get your petty prejudices out of the lives of decent people.

I visited your website to find your email address, and it makes me despair for this state and the people who voted for you. Nothing that I can see on the front page of your site bears any resemblance to the truth. Creating jobs for people? By doing what, increasing tax breaks for your rich friends, so that there’s no money to support the programs that would help people get back to work, like, say, unemployment and education?

Every headline I saw click by made me angrier and angrier. “A Bright Future For Our Students.” A bright future for our students?? Really??? When you’re determined to eliminate funding any education at all and have cheerfully jumped on the bandwagon of those who want to demonize and vilify teachers?? Let me tell you, my mom IS a teacher, and in a “rich” school district at that, and the more I hear from her about state-mandated changes in their school the more I despair that my toddler will ever grow up to have a decent education.

“Helping Pennsylvanians most in need?” By destroying our natural resources, destroying the farmland that this state still relies on so that companies can drain money out of the state while pretending that offering temporary (yes, temporary – you think the gas companies are going to do anything to find new employment for those workers after they’ve extracted every last ounce of blood they can from our state? If you do, well, you’re lying) employment makes up for that.

It disgusts me that you can sit out there in the governor’s mansion and pretend that you’re doing anything, ANYTHING other than lining the pockets of your cronies. I am literally shaking with anger, right here, because you are a disgusting, miserly, selfish bastard of a human being and you’re just sooooo proud of yourself. How do you convince yourself these lies are true? Do you really believe they are? Or do you go to bed at night laughing at all the suckers convinced that you’re going to help them just because you’re running under the party on their voter registration card?

I imagine that’s more likely than you doing what you should be doing, which is going to bed at night and laying awake staring at the ceiling, nauseous over the fact that you are part of the Republican Party of Hate, the party of the rich, the party of the 1%, and so *by definition* you’re in the running to belong to the category of “worst people in America” and your policies aren’t designed to do anything but crush the people who are counting on you because hey – that’s how you get rich in this country.

If you really had any trace of decency in you, you wouldn’t be able to sleep for the nightmares.

That’s something I’d really like to be able to do, actually. Provide dreams for people. Specifically, nightmares for politicians and people who profit from politics. Every night, Rush Limbaugh would spend the entire night dreaming that he’s an unemployed Hispanic woman in rural Alabama, with three children to care for and a husband who’s been arrested for being the wrong color. And a white next door neighbor who waves the Confederate flag above the American flag on his flagpole.

I also would like to be able to re-write this email so that it’s a little more productive, but that’s not going to happen at 11:30 at night when I’m still enraged.

P.S. You can go to that snake Corbett’s website if you want, but I’m not going to link it, because even thinking about it right now makes me wish that I could punch his smug, smarmy smile on my computer screen and have it break his actual teeth.

P.P.S. See? I did good! I actually thought about what I was saying while I was writing it instead of after clicking “send”!

